Penang State Taekwon-do Association (GTF) was formed and was registered with the registrar of Societies, Malaysia in the year 1972. Initially the Association was named the Penang International Taekwon-do Association (PITA) and was the Association governing ITF Taekwon-do in the state of Pulau Pinang (Penang).

The first President of the Association was Mr. Neoh Choo Kean, a keen taekwon-doist and formerly the General Manager of Ban Hin Lee Bank. In 1974, Mr. Neoh relinquished his post because of work pressure and he was succeeded by Master Choong Teck Hong PKT, PJM (8th Degree Blackbelt) who has held office since then.

In 1984, the Penang International Taekwon-do Association with 12 other State Associations in Malaysia formed the Malaysian International Taekwon-do Federation (MITF) - the national governing body of ITF Taekwon-do in Malaysia. The National President was GrandMaster Professor Dato' Dr. Sabree Salleh, DSSA, DPMT, AMN, PJC, PJK, DSM, OIM, Order of Friendship (DPR Korea)(9th Degree Blackbelt). MITF was affiliated to the International Taekwon-do Federation which has its headquarters in Vienna, Austria. The President was the late General Choi Hong Hi, the founder of Taekwon-do.

In 1999, the MITF withdrew from the ITF and subsequently renamed itself the Malaysian Global Taekwon-do Federation (MGTF), and was affiliated to the Global Taekwon-do Federation (GTF), with its headquarters in Canada. The Founder and 1st President was the late Grandmaster Park Jung Tae.

In 1999, the Penang International Taekwon-do Association re-registered itself with the Ministry of Youth and Sports, Malaysia, under the name of the Penang State Taekwon-do Association (GTF) - PSTA(GTF), and is the official governing body of GTF Taekwon-do in Pulau Pinang. Today, PSTA(GTF) boasts of more than 50 instructors, 200 centres and 4000 active taekwon-doists.